Symphony n° 7

Composed in

2001-02, rev. 2007


2/2/2/2 – 2/2/2/1 – Timp/Crotales/Vibraphone/Tubular Bells – Harp/Piano/Celesta – Strings. In Hall : 2 duos of 1 Horn & 1 Trombone.


First performance
September 7, 2002 at deSingel in Antwerp (B). deFilharmonie, conducted by Arturo TAMAYO. Final version : November 16, 2007 at de Bijloke in Gent (B). Het Brabants Orkest (NL), conducted by Arturo TAMAYO.

Commissioned by
Royal Flanders Philharmonic (deFilharmonie)

Dedicated to
André Laporte



Luc on Symphony n° 7 :

This work was composed in 2001-02 on commission of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra of Flanders and has been first performed by this orchestra under Arturo Tamayo on 7 september 2002 at deSingel in Antwerp. This symphony consists of three movements played without interruption : the first two movements are relatively swift and short and are followed by a (much longer) Adagio. The orchestra isn’t very large, the percussion section is very restrained compared to my previous symphonies, but there are two duo’s (horn and trombone twice) left and right backstage (or even preferably in the back of the hall). They have an important part in the story.

The first movement is called “Fanfares” and also sounds a bit like that, including the overtones and echos of the “hidden” instruments. This is interrupted for a while by a soft passage referring to the last movement. The idea was to start in a very “optimistic” way in order to prepare the audience (and the orchestra) for the following. The second movement (Allegro con moto) is some kind of mini-concertino for the winds, I challenge their technical abilities and rhythmical feeling. Follows the Adagio that was conceived as a huge gush of severe music. The base is some sort of monolithic/acid “concealed” chorale played by increasing amounts of instrumental groups with – besides – an endless melodic line (first monodic, later in two voices) which seems to have nothing to do at all with the other music. The work ends quite surprisingly after a climax. The score is dedicated to my former teacher André Laporte.

I made a slight revision of the score in 2007. The first performance of this final version was given on November 16, 2007 at de Bijloke in Gent (B) by the Brabants Orkest (NL) conducted by Arturo Tamayo.

Luc Brewaeys